Keeping busy.

I am still writing.  I have a bank of stories that I’m going to release after the Match about everything that has happened over the last two years.  With all my free time since ignoring the internets, I’ve been able to do other fun things.  This is one of them.  Also, this is my face and my voice.

As far as the cube goes, I bought one in November of 2007 and went to Lars Petraus’ website. 

  1. Step 1 – Build a 2x2x2 corner
  2. Step 2 – Expand to 2x2x3
  3. Step 3 – Twist the edges (I use one algorithm from this)
  4. Step 4 – Finish 2 layers (I use one algorithm from this)
  5. Step 5 – Position the corners (I use one algorithm from this)
  6. Step 6 – Twist the corners (I use three algorithms from this)
  7. Step 7 – Position the edges (I use one algorithm from this)

It took my about two days to figure out my first solve (basically following the website move for move).  It was another week before I could solve it without looking at my cheat sheet of written algorithms.  Another week before I was sub-5 minutes.  A week later it was 3 minutes.  I spent about a month hovering around 90 seconds and have been stuck at 45-60 seconds for the past three months without any real improvement.

I have no plans to solve it blindfolded, but appreciate all the people that tell me they won’t be impressed until that happens.  You people suck.

Don’t let the books swallow you, topher.

16 Responses to Keeping busy.

  1. Jason Rundle says:

    Just saying hi from SGU. First week of classes have started and the white coat ceremony starts in a few hours. It’s nice to see somebody who has reached the light at the end of tunnel. I also am very impressed by your cube skills. I learned how to solve them back in middle school using the “moves” (algorithms sounds so much cooler) in the supplied instruction book, but it always took me about 3 minutes.

  2. Mary says:

    Haha, wow! I could never do it. I always get like one side and then I am too scared to mess it up, that I don’t want to move it anymore. Lol! But lovely video, and great advice! I have a newfound hope that maybe oneday, I’ll be able to solve the cube.

  3. sham says:

    too cool! i just started reading your blog! :D

  4. sena says:

    that s so nice!and i m so happy that u return back to *writing* :)

  5. Signout says:

    Seriously? Do we really have to wait to hear everything until after the match? How unfair. May I recommend anonymity?

    Congrats on the transfer and on finishing 3rd year, and good luck with applications!

  6. dann wyman says:

    i used to do it in around 60 seconds myself. i bought one about two months ago and still can’t do it without the cheat sheet. must be a signof old age setting in. : )

  7. Homunculus says:

    You are HOT!!!! ;)

  8. audiomosaic says:

    Hey man.

    I’m a 2nd year at your school actually, and much like yourself, I have a blog on wordpress in order to document the insanity and unique-ness of medical training in writing and on the web. One of my friends who has been reading my blog for awhile stumbled upon it and forwarded it to me, based on my school.

    While I am not so interested in reading how to solve a rubik’s cube (i’m still working with posting videos myself), I would like to know how to tag your blog so that it gets tons of hits.

    Ironically, my blog is http://clubmedicalschool.wordpress.com, a term I made up when I myself was applying to the caribbean medical school system (something that did not end up actually being put into effect).

    I want to compliment you on your blog however, it’s an interesting journey and a well documented one at that. You had the idea before me, but today is the first day I’ve ever read it and I can comfortably say that I came up with it on my own! I’m comforted to know somewhere that people had the same reaction to the ridiculosity of this experience, and your blog has inspired me want to do even more with my own project.

    Feel free to be in touch, would really like to hear tips on blogging.

    B

  9. thugmed says:

    Check out our new blog with vids and great notes.

    http://www.thugmed.com

    Just a couple of thugs trying to make it in the blogoshpere

  10. lahdeedah says:

    @Homunculus: seriously, never would’ve thought the guy who went to town on First Aid would be so ridiculously cute! Hahahahah! *blush*

  11. Anonymous? says:

    So I’m pretty sure you had another cube sitting there, prepared to be solved within your touted 60-second mastery. This is not to undermine your ability to solve a cube because you appear to be able to, but you may not be as good as you offer yourself to be. I wouldn’t be surprised if you used one you were prepared to solve, rather than the one you showed us you were randomly twisting and was, “pretty sure [you had] no idea where anything [was] on [that] cube right [then].” Your odd sigh after your ‘explanation’ (i.e. “…and the watch is just for my benefit so I can PACE myself.”) offered to distract viewers when you took your watch off makes it seem you weren’t so comfortable with your story. Is there some reason you couldn’t have just looked at the watch ON your wrist? Besides being too short a frame of time combined with too complex a task to utilize the pacing of time, the answer is yes, again, you needed a reason to trade the unfamiliar cube for a familiar cube. It would have been more believable and impressive…say, if you actually kept the cube in view at all times and solved THAT one, but, you lose. :)

  12. Anonymous? says:

    :p, wrong smiley

  13. j says:

    Did you match? I understand it was particularly horrible this year.

  14. PharLap says:

    Horses enjoy ‘cubes’…….. of sugar!

  15. Denise says:

    I think…I love you.

  16. Cool. Been able to solve rubik’s cubes but it’s rare that I finish in less than a minute. XD

Leave a comment