Missing This

I write to you now, briefly, as someone who has dis- and then re- appeared.

I have successfully completed the final two years of medical school.  Most people view the two clinical years as the most interesting years of medical school.  I think I agree with that.

I have gone through the process of applying for a competitive specialty.  I have gone through the match.  I have landed a job.  And I have thinkings about all of it which I’d love to share.

I probably will.

For those of you that still check back to this space, that still wonder “what the hell happened?!”, this is for you.  What do you want to know?

Whatever you suggest, I will address.  Be my impetus.

I can’t wait to start – topher.

21 Responses to Missing This

  1. jon says:

    Hey Topher, hope all is well. So reading your blog we got to follow you through your two years in the Caribbean. Things I’d be interested in knowing about would be rotations, how you decided which field to go into, navigating the match, graduating, etc. Keep writing bro. Some of us just like reading your writing regardless of the subject.

  2. Kendra says:

    Ditto on the above. How did the transition to go a U.S. school? Any info about the Match process would be much appreciated, as I’m navigating its murky depths right now…

    We miss you! :)

    PS: Congrats!

  3. Sam says:

    Congrats where’d you match and in what field? I am beginning SGU either Aug 09 or Jan 10 (waitin to hear still). Which professors do you recommend approaching for Letters of Recommendation? Do you know of anyone else who transferred after you did? And also, please describe the transition to moving to Drexel and the Philly area…was it difficult and in the end would you transfer again if you could (outside of getting a better job)? Thanks and wish you the best in your career.

  4. Gaby says:

    Hi,
    I have enjoyed reading this blog and totally missed it while you stopped posting. I used your guide to study for step 1 and was wondering if you have one for step 2 ck as well as I am currently in the process of formulating my study plan. Any help would be very much appreciated!

    Congrats on all your accomplishments!

  5. Deb says:

    Yeah I ditto what Gaby said, if you have a plan for the CK it would be great to see it…I am also studying for CK. I have been following your blog since March 2007…

  6. deb says:

    ….and am probably one of thousands of students who were inspired by your work ethic and perseverence in studying for Step 1. (to be honest even though I read your plan, about the only thing I was able to fully implement was the de-binding of the First Aid…I would never have the patience to pick up errata in High Yield Cell Bio). Anyways, congrats on matching and best wishes as you move on to bigger and better things!

  7. Emma says:

    I am happy to hear that You cannot wait to start to write,and to know that RWT is not just another obligation of yours, but something You trully want to share with us. Where I study, there is no USMLE, books are different, a whole educational system is different, so that is not why I read RWT. Your writing is inspirational. That is what drives me back. Writings like: “I do not want to just pass the Boards. I don’t even want a high pass. I am locking myself in a library every day to score above the 95th percentile.” inspire to be just that way. You are an eye-opener. Your must-read suggestions like Dale Carnegie are just great. I hope You get the idea why RWT is not just another Med Student Blog. I am looking forward to reading your posts.

  8. doctor007 says:

    It seems so strange to me sitting here thinking about what to write, and the only thing that comes to my mind is that it felt like friends growing apart when you stopped writing. That’s the mark of a great blog – you can feel like you connect enough to know someone on that kind of level. I guess it should also be said that I came across this place way before I even got accepted into medical school, so everything here was either advice or inspiration to get me where I wanted to and eventually did go.
    Whether you choose to write again or not, thanks Topher.

  9. Jim says:

    What residency are you going into and where at?

  10. Pri says:

    Hey Topher,

    So I found your blog, I don’t know how, but I was definitely searching for something med-school related. I just finished by undergrad, didn’t get into med schools, to which I applied not really knowing why I was applying (except that my parents wanted me to). But regardless, the idea of med school stays with me still, much like something would once I am told that I’m not good enough for it – I’ll prove that I am. Anyway, I still don’t know why I want to go to med school, except that I want to help people and I want to be known as an MD because only then do I feel that I will be taken seriously for wanting to help people and have the greatest ability to do so (perhaps not the best reason I suppose … ) and reading your blog has shown me what an amazing journey medical school, on its own, can be. I actually went through your blog just now, in its entirety and from your writing, I see the growth in you as an individual, and without having met you, I know that you will be (or are already being) a fine doctor. Congratulations and please keep share your experiences – I want to know more :)

  11. Ro says:

    Dear Topher,

    I came across your blog searching for some info on transferring from a Caribbean to a US med school. I read every one of your entries and it has motivated me to continue on this journey, that at times may seem endless. I totally understand what you mean when you said that had you not gone into medicine everything else would bore you. I too feel that the thank you in a patient’s eyes is fulfilling. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and knowledge. Please e-mail me at r_bissoon@hotmail.com, I have a few questions that I would like answered. I’m sure you’re busy with your residency but if you have a moment I would greatly appreciate it. Good luck with everything and thank you once again.

  12. thedragonflyinitiative says:

    What specialty are you going into?

  13. Pradeep says:

    Dear topher . .

    U simply rock . . I hv also finish’d my medical school n doin my internship . .coming across ur blog was something I wil cal as luck . . Keep blogging . . RWT Wil def b goin places . . Similar to d lonelygirl115 in youtube . . :-)

  14. K.B. says:

    Dear Topher,

    Could you please finish editing your “Transferring”
    section .. I truly appreciate it ..
    Thank you

  15. Jody says:

    Yea i agree with all of the above. Your blog has been more then just all this. It keeps some really motivated in a long run. well I guess that would probably be me, top of the list. Anyways dude Keep writing more…. cheers and congrats!

  16. dogo says:

    Well? We’re waiting!

  17. crystal says:

    stumbled across your blog while looking for pathology resources for neuro. great writing here, congratulations on getting what you want. curious about what you ended up doing with yourself, we’d like to know!

  18. Katherine says:

    you’re cool topher.

  19. Kate says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for all the advice and inspiration. You seem like a great person and best regards.

  20. Andrew says:

    Great site. I hope you end up completing it someday.

    Good luck

  21. pat says:

    Just like to say —THANK YOU !!!

    GOD BLESS!!

Leave a comment