Transferring from the Caribbean: Calling all Schools

cold-call.jpgI have taken today off from preparing for the USMLE to call 80+ US medical schools. This is in the hopes that they are accepting applications for transfer into their 2nd or 3rd years. It’s not fun and I am assured by students that have done it themselves that it is good to do because it “builds character.”

“Do you accept applications from foreign medical students?”

“No. Wait, are you a resident of this state?”

“No, I’m not.”

“Then hell no.”

Repeat 80 times. So much character I need a drink. It’s a shame that life is filled with stories of people being told “no” a hundred times before hearing a single, life-changing “yes” because it’s that possibility that keeps me trudging along when I’d rather not. I already have a list of 15 schools that I know will take my application; the rest of this is just masochism.

Of course, it’s just a bunch of secretaries on a phone somewhere. I’ll get over it.

*Addendum*

These folks saved themselves the trouble of my phone call:

Q: Are students from “off-shore” medical schools eligible?

A: No.

 

Q: Are students who are U.S. citizens enrolled in a foreign medical school recognized by the World Health Organization (WHO) eligible?

A: No.

8 Responses to Transferring from the Caribbean: Calling all Schools

  1. nosugrefneb says:

    Sounds like a fun day.
    What’s Plan B?

  2. Oh…It’s okay. Smile all the same…:-D

  3. Try LSU Health Sciences Center in Shreveport, LA. A former EMS colleague transferred there after 2 years spent at a Caribbean medical school.

  4. Try Osteopathic schools. You might be pleasantly surprised.

  5. Jason says:

    what are the 15 schools that accept transfer?

  6. Bob says:

    Good job for not giving up. I’m sure there is hope somewhere someday. Could you please let me know the 15 schools that accept transfer?
    Thank you.

  7. eli winsey says:

    dear all, I am a DO student at nycomm in new york, usa. I am thinking about transferring to caribbean for my final 2 years of rotations, at a school that does all the rotations in USA. Sgu and ross don’t accept osteopathic transfers at all. could someone please help me out by providing names of schools that do take DO transfers into 3rd/4th yrs. or if this is even possible?

  8. pk says:

    which school let you transfer from carribian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

