How to Prepare for the USMLE: Taking a Break

The poor little medical student is tired after nine straight days of 8:30am – 5:30pm studying.

You never really forget that you love science and that you find molecular biology and biochemistry to be interesting, but it’s only when you set out to review the whole subject in one week that you are reminded that it is breathtaking. I’ve been giddy over the material these last few days and despite being a little tired and sensing that I need some time to let my mind stray, I am loving this.

Studying for the Boards is so much more fun when you’re looking forward to the test.

But it’s still two months away and I need to pace myself. Tomorrow will be a half-day. I’ll have from 2:30pm till midnight to run errands (buy longjohns because the library is freezing and I’m in Cincinnati), do something physically active, and read a few chapters in a non-medical book for pleasure.

For those keeping score: 5 subjects, 618 pages, 9 days.

  • HY Embryology (177)
  • HY Biostatistics (115)
  • HY Behavioral Science (87)
  • HY Molecular and Cell Biology (189 of 227)
  • Lipincott’s Biochemistry (50 selected pages)

Return to USMLE Step 1 page.

One Response to How to Prepare for the USMLE: Taking a Break

  1. AJ says:

    I envy you; I love clinical science but molecular science is so hard for me.

Leave a Reply

