Welcome to Grenada, A Student’s Guide for Students

I have been silent in this space for a little while now but I have not been lazy. The end of my first two years is 10 days away and I will soon leave the Caribbean for a permanent place back home in the US. I have taken a comprehensive diagnostic test of my skills clinically and academically (both in-house) and I just returned from a trip to Grenada to finish work on a two-year project of mine. These are exciting times.

I’m incredibly proud of the work that’s now over. Coming in at 11,000 words, it’s about as long as an Atul Gawande article with about 1/11,000 of the readership.

Welcome to Grenada, A Student’s Guide for Students” began in April of 2005 as a seven-page introduction to your new life on the island. It has since swelled to include information and advice for the first two years of island living. With our fingers crossed, we hope it eventually has information for the clinical years, interviewing for residency, and a guide to the match (with specifics for FMGs).

The editors believe in the power of honesty. If I told you that everything was perfect, would you believe anything I said? With that in mind, we hope you find our honest take on attending Saint George’s University to be helpful and that by showing you the rust you will appreciate the shine. For more on why we wrote this and our general mission statement, please read the Letter From the Editors.

And with that, I am exhausted. A lot has happened and the telling will all have to wait until I’m sipping egg nog, wearing a ridiculous sweater, and enjoying being the tannest man in the room.

Happy Holidays, topher.

3 Responses to Welcome to Grenada, A Student’s Guide for Students

  1. Happy holidays indeed. Seeing the tone with which this post was written, I can jut see you sitting there looking dog-tired with bronze skin. You’ve earned your break, old chap. Have a great break!

  2. nosugrefneb says:

    Well done. I recall that the orientation booklet we got – likely not 11,000 words, but certainly no slouch – was perhaps the most helpful information I received prior to getting to med school, so I have no doubt that your efforts will at the very least be beneficial and appreciated.

    Did you schedule a boards date yet? And how are you permanently back in the US? Are you able to just do all away rotations?

  3. Reza says:

    Hi Topher. I have been reading your blog with a lot of interest. You wrote about the Terms 1, 4, 5 and 6. Term 3 should be easy as it is Beh Sci. But can you write some advice about term 2 or you already wrote about it and I missed it somehow. Thanks for your great writings.

Leave a Reply

